Question: Do you sell gift certificates?
Thank you for asking, lol. We DO have gift vouchers available, and they are very well-recieved and remembered. Call us about them anytime, or order conveniently online.
Question: Have You Written Any Articles or Had Any Articles Written About Your Business?
Yes on both counts. Brenda is a contributor to Array Magazine and an article about Brenda and Healing Hands Body Therapy was featured in Small Business Trendsetters
Question: What is the cost of a massage?
All of our sessions are based on time and not by modality used.
- $60 for 60 minutes
- $90 for 90 minutes
- $120 for 120 minutes
Corporate Chair/Table Massage is available in 5, 10, 15 or 30 minute increment per employee at $65 per hour/per therapist, for a minimum of 2 hours with no travel or service charge assessed. Companies can: 1) choose to arrange and pay for the massage or 2) provide the time and allow the employee to pay for the massage or 3) split the cost with the employee.
Question: What takes place during a massage?
First, the client will complete an intake form and health history. The client will also read our intention and sign an informed consent. Second, the therapist will complete an interview with the client. This time allows us to review the intake form, discuss medical conditions, find out what the expectations of the client and what they are looking for in a massage and lastly, how they want to feel after the massage. Then the therapist will explain what all will take place during the massage. Third, the therapist will leave the room while the client undresses “to their level of comfort” and gets situated on the massage table, covered by the sheet.
NOTE: North Carolina licensed massage therapists are required to obtain current health history, written informed consent and to provide draping in a manner that ensures safety, comfort and privacy of the client.
Question: What do you mean by “undress to your level of comfort?”
We want you to be fully comfortable during your massage session. So it is always your choice to either dress down fully or leave on your underclothes. By North Carolina state law you will always remain fully draped except for the part of the body that is being worked on.
Question: Do I need to make an appointment?
Yes. To help keep our prices low we only staff therapist by appointment. However, there are times that we are able to accommodate clients that with a same day appointment. If you are planning on using insurance to pay for the session you will need to obtain your doctors prescription prior to booking the first appointment. You will then be booked with a minimum of a 24 hour wait. This is to give us time to contact your insurance company to verify your coverage.
Question: What is your cancellation policy?
We require a $25 new client deposit and a full payment no show fee. No show is defined as canceled less than 24 hours in advance. If you would like to change your appointment, please call us at 910-818-2513 no later than 24 hours prior to your appointment in order to avoid being charged a $25 fee. We try, in every circumstance to be understanding of how life can throw a curve ball. However, our revenue is directly tied to billable hours, A large part of our success is the committed, exceptional therapists we employ. What sets us apart from other practices and what gives us the ability to attract and retain great therapists is the way we compensate. If you do not show up for your appointment, our therapist is still paid their full hourly salary but they miss out on maximizing their potential earnings.
We like to use the analogy of food. When you book a massage appointment with us, it is like booking a catering event (without the deposit.) The room is reserved, the food is ordered and prepared, the staff are hired. When you “don’t show up”, the room was still reserved, – but is not being used. The linen was ordered and paid for, but not being used. The therapist was scheduled and paid, but not working.
It is customary in the healthcare industry to enforce a 24 hour cancellation notice to avoid being charged for any service. All “No Shows” and “Last Minute Cancellations” are charged a $25 fee. You will not be able to book another session until this fee is paid. We believe we give you every opportunity to cancel your appointment in advance of 24 hours, including a reminder text message the day before your appointment. If you miss an appointment without prior notification due to exceptional, emergency circumstances, feel free to discuss the matter with us. Likewise, we make a similar promise to you. If Healing Hands Body Therapy isn’t able to give you at least 24 hours notice of our cancelling your appointment, you will not pay for the missed session and we will give you an additional free session.
Question: Can I choose my own therapist?
Yes, you can choose your therapist but you may have to wait for an appointment depending on the therapists’ schedule, availability and popularity. You can also request your preference in male or female therapist. Our philosophy at Healing Hands Body Therapy is to pair you with the therapist that specializes in the areas that can best meet your needs. You can choose to change therapists at anytime during your treatment plan, establish a primary therapist and/or utilize each therapist at different points in time during your relationship to Healing Hands Body Therapy. We understand the need for consistency, change and spontaneity and we can be all of those things to you and more. We want you to feel welcome to try any of us at Healing Hands Body Therapy.
Question: What should I expect when I arrive for the first visit?
Our receptionist or your massage therapist will greet you and ask you to complete some paperwork. A North Carolina licensed massage therapist is required to inquire into the health history and current health status of each client and obtain written consent to before performing massage. Please arrive at least 15 minutes early to your first session. The time we schedule you is intended for the hands on time.
Question: Where is Healing Hands Body Therapy located?
We are located at 5843 Ramsey Street. Directly across the street from Pet Starz. You have to enter our parking lot from Ramsey street. Traveling North on Ramsey street you will need to make a U-turn due to the median.
Question: Am I expected to tip my massage therapist?
Tips are never expected, but always appreciated. If you have received exceptional service and would like to show your appreciation to the therapist, the average tip ranges between 10-25%. Our massage therapists are paid a flat rate per massage. However, from the therapist’s perspective, it is always nice to receive the compliment of a “thank you for good service” gratuity. If paying with a credit card or check, the tip can be added to the total. The therapist will receive 100% of their tip, less required taxes.
If your session is billed to your insurance then unfortunately tips are not allowed. This is due to healthcare laws.
Will the massage lotion used make me break-out?
We use a hypoallergenic lotion that does not contain apricot oil. We also use hot towels in all of our sessions and are more than willing to provide you with an extra towel you can use while you redress.